Four Venues Submit Straw Poll Bids

Four venues have submitted proposals to host the 2015 Republican Party of Iowa Straw poll.

The straw poll began in 1979 and has been held in every open Republican presidential cycle since. It has grown to be one of the largest grassroots political events in the country.

The four potential venues are:

The Republican Party of Iowa’s Straw Poll Committee will now consider the bids and make a recommendation to the State Central Committee for the location of the 2015 Iowa Straw Poll. There is no set date for a final decision.

The members of the committee are:

  • Jeff Kaufmann, Chairman
  • Cody Hoefert, Co-Chair
  • Trudy Caviness, Wapello County
  • Chelle Adkins, Black Hawk County
  • Jamie Johnson, Webster County
  • Gary Nystrom, Boone County
  • Steve Scheffler, National Committeeman

Statement from Chairman Jeff Kaufmann: “We appreciate the many venues across Iowa that considered hosting the straw poll and those that eventually submitted official bids. The straw poll is one of the largest grassroots events of the presidential cycle and an incredible opportunity for Iowans to meet presidential candidates face to face, and for the candidates to meet tens of thousands of likely caucus goers.”