DES MOINES – Today, Iowa Senate Democrats Sarah Trone Garriott (D-West Des Moines),  Nate Boulton (D-Des Moines), and Eric Giddens (D-Cedar Falls), voted against a bill aimed at increasing starting teacher pay. HF 2612 sought to raise the statutory minimum pay for new teachers in Iowa from $33,500 to $50,000 over the next two years, thereby positioning Iowa's minimum teacher salary as the 5th highest in the nation.

In addition, HF 2612 included provisions such as:

  • Incentivizing retired teachers to assist in filling workplace gaps in schools.
  • Raising pay for paraprofessionals.
  • Providing a 2.5% increase in school funding.
  • Exploring methods to enhance services, consolidate buildings, offer oversight, and deliver better outcomes in special education.
  • Aligning AEA chief salaries more closely with superintendents.

"Today's vote demonstrates that Senate Democrats prioritize education unions over teachers. Despite the opportunity to raise starting teacher pay, they voted against it," said GOP Chairman Jeff Kaufmann. "As a professor myself, I understand the necessity of having new, young teachers in every district, particularly in rural Iowa. Trone Garriott, Boulton, and Giddens have undoubtedly made it more challenging to attract teachers to those districts. They should be held accountable."

Share this post